PDA

View Full Version : New to k20's, looking to Turbo

cjtech1
09-18-2012, 01:08 PM
Hopefully someone can shed some light on the subject, Ive heard a lot of different things about the k20 and what else is needed with the turbo set-up. I am a mechanic so i understand the setup and whatnot but im not entirely sure if any internals would need to be done to be able to withstand the turbo. I was told that the k20 can withstand up to 8psi of booost with the stock internals. I know ill need to upgrade my fuel system on top of what I already have done to the car and I know ill need hondata and a tune. Its a 2010 4 door SI so any help with letting me know of any internal changes I would need to make the the engine would be greatly appreciated, Thanks.

2006ninjasi
09-18-2012, 02:44 PM
I have a 06 fg2 on a pte6262. It was tuned on 12.6 psi and made 440 hp. The stock
Internals are good to go up to 500ish

cjtech1
09-19-2012, 01:29 PM
Ok, Any recommendations as to a turbo manifold? Im coming up with all different responses some saying stay away from cast iron and some saying stick to cast iron. Hard to get a straight answer on all of this lol

VTECFRED
09-20-2012, 03:37 PM
If you want to make over 350HP you will need to get away from the cast iron log style manifolds. Look for tubular manifolds like the ones offered by full race or AJP or SRT.

You will spend more up front if you just buy a kit from one of them but it will all fit no questions asked.

If you go the custom route like I did you will still spend over $5000 to get over 350HP.

What are your power goals?

Sent using my Galaxy S3

cjtech1
09-20-2012, 09:13 PM
I'm looking to get somewhere around 400 whp. Basically I would like to get as much as I can still keeping the stock internals. I eventually plan to build a motor block up but that is a project for a later date lol

ksboi
09-21-2012, 03:38 AM